Best EOR for Startups 2026: Prices from $199 to $699
Best of / Best Employer of Record (EOR) for Startups 2026
Shortlist

An Employer of Record (EOR) lets a startup hire a full-time employee in a country where it has no legal entity. The EOR becomes the legal employer: it issues a locally compliant contract, runs payroll, files taxes and statutory contributions, and administers benefits, while you direct the work. You pay a monthly fee per employee on top of the employee's salary and employer statutory costs.

For a first international hire, the sticker price is only part of the cost. We ranked seven EOR providers on what matters most to an early-stage company: the published per-employee fee, upfront cash (security deposits and setup fees), commitment (month-to-month billing, minimum headcount), and startup discounts the vendor states on its own site. Every price and term below was checked on the vendor's own pricing or startup page on October 13, 2026. US-only payroll services such as OnPay and Patriot Payroll are not EOR providers and are no longer ranked here.

The best Payroll Software tools in 2026 are Remofirst ($0–$199/person/month), Remote ($29–$599/person/month), and Playroll ($9–$399/employee/month). RemoFirst is the best EOR for most startups hiring their first international employees in October 2026: EOR from $199 per employee per month (may vary by country), with no setup, onboarding or termination fees, no annual contract and no minimums, per the vendor. Remote has the strongest startup discount: pre-seed to Series A companies get 15% off its $599 EOR (about $509) for 12 months, with no standard deposit. Playroll's $399 monthly fee is lower than Remote's but requires a refundable deposit equal to one month's salary.

Quick Answer

RemoFirst is the best EOR for most startups hiring their first international employees in October 2026: EOR from $199 per employee per month (may vary by country), with no setup, onboarding or termination fees, no annual contract and no minimums, per the vendor. Remote has the strongest startup discount: pre-seed to Series A companies get 15% off its $599 EOR (about $509) for 12 months, with no standard deposit. Playroll's $399 monthly fee is lower than Remote's but requires a refundable deposit equal to one month's salary.

Last updated: 2026-10-24T05:26:10Z

Workspace

Compare the top 3 side-by-side

Drag the seat slider, lock a tier per product, see Vendr median pricing and hidden costs for Remofirst, Remote, Playroll.

Compare top 3 in workspace

Our Rankings

Best Overall for Startups

Remofirst

RemoFirst lists the lowest EOR fee verified here, from $199 per employee per month in 185+ countries, and states no setup, onboarding or termination fees and no annual contracts or minimums — the terms that matter most when a startup makes its first hire abroad. The fee may vary by country, and RemoFirst employs through vetted in-country partners rather than its own entities.
Price: $0 - $199/person/month
Cheapest paid
Employer of Record — from $199/employee/month (may vary by country)
Verified
2026-10-13 · vendor source
Pros:
  • EOR from $199/employee/month in 185+ countries
  • No setup, onboarding or termination fees, no annual contracts and no minimums, per RemoFirst's pricing FAQ
  • Contractors (Free tier); Premium Contractors is $25/contractor/month
Cons:
  • EOR fee 'may vary based on local country requirements'; RemoFirst gives a full cost breakdown before you commit
  • Employs through vetted in-country partners rather than owned entities
  • No startup discount is listed on the pricing page; RemoHealth insurance (from $55/person/month) is a paid add-on
Best Startup Discount

Remote

Remote's Employer of Record (EOR) starts at $599 per employee per month, but startups that raised pre-seed, seed or Series A get 15% off EOR and Contractor Management for their first 12 months — about $509 per employee per month. Remote charges no setup or onboarding fees and no standard deposit, and employs through its own entities in 90+ countries.
Price: $29 - $599/person/month
Cheapest paid
Employer of Record — from $599/employee/month (15% off for the first 12 months for pre-seed to Series A startups)
Verified
2026-10-13 · vendor source
Pros:
  • 15% off EOR and Contractor Management for the first 12 months for pre-seed to Series A startups; Remote says an investor introduction adds 5% more (up to 20%)
  • No setup, onboarding or platform fees and no standard deposit (a refundable reserve can apply case by case)
  • Employer of Record (EOR) through 100% Remote-owned entities; contractors from $29 per active contractor/month
Cons:
  • Employer of Record (EOR) available in 90+ countries — the narrowest coverage in this ranking
  • The full $599/employee/month list price applies once the 12-month startup discount ends
  • No annual-billing discount is listed; card payments carry a 3.5% fee
Lowest Flat Fee, Deposit Required

Playroll

Playroll's Employer of Record starts at $399 per employee per month, billed monthly with no minimum commitment and no onboarding or offboarding fees, in 180+ countries. It ranks below RemoFirst and Remote for startups because it requires a fully refundable security deposit equal to one month's salary per employee, which ties up cash at the first hire.
Price: $9 - $399/employee/month
Cheapest paid
Employer of Record — from $399/employee/month, billed monthly, no minimum commitment
Verified
2026-10-13 · vendor source
Pros:
  • Employer of Record from $399/employee/month, billed monthly with no minimum commitment
  • No onboarding or offboarding fees and no minimum number of employees or contractors
  • Hire in 180+ countries; Playroll states onboarding takes 2–5 days; Contractor Management is a flat $35/contractor/month
Cons:
  • Fully refundable security deposit equal to 1 month's salary per Employer of Record employee
  • Statutory employment costs and country-specific government charges are billed separately from the fee
  • No startup discount is listed on the pricing page
Best Published Annual Rate

Multiplier

Multiplier's Employer of Record — Core plan is $499 per employee per month month-to-month or $459 billed annually, with no minimum headcount and owned legal entities in 160+ countries, per the vendor. Its pricing page says 'cancel anytime' and lists no deposit, but adds an implementation fee and compliance-mandated add-ons 'as applicable' without publishing the amounts.
Price: $20 - $559/person/month
Cheapest paid
EOR Core — $499/employee/month month-to-month, or $459/employee/month billed annually
Verified
2026-10-13 · vendor source
Pros:
  • Employer of Record — Core $499/employee/month monthly or $459 billed annually; Employer of Record — Growth $559 / $519
  • No minimum headcount; the pricing page says 'Start today, cancel anytime'
  • Contractor Management $49/month ($40 billed annually) and Global Payroll from $20/employee/month in the same platform
Cons:
  • Implementation fee and compliance-mandated add-ons 'as applicable'; amounts not published
  • About 11% of supported countries have adjusted (non-standard) EOR pricing
  • No standing startup discount on the pricing page; a '3 months free' offer for new customers ends December 31, 2026
Best All-in-One Platform

Deel

Deel's EOR Standard is $599 per employee per month, month-to-month with no long-term contract and cancellation at any time, in 130+ countries. It has no EOR startup discount; its startup bundle instead makes U.S. payroll free for founders (first 5 seats, for venture-backed startups that raised at least $500k), which helps US-based founders more than first hires abroad.
Price: $5 - $599/employee/month
Cheapest paid
EOR — $599/employee/month, month-to-month
Verified
2026-10-13 · vendor source
Pros:
  • EOR Standard $599/employee/month, month-to-month; Deel states no long-term commitment and cancellation at any time
  • Startup bundle: free U.S. payroll for founders, first 5 seats free for life (venture-backed, $500k+ raised)
  • Published prices for adjacent products: Global Payroll $29, Contractors $49, US PEO $125, Deel HR from $5
Cons:
  • No EOR startup discount and no annual discount published
  • At $599 it costs $200 more per employee per month than Playroll's starting fee
  • The pricing page does not state a deposit policy — ask before signing
Startup Discount on the Highest List Price

Oyster HR

Oyster HR's Employer of Record lists at USD 699 per employee per month in 120+ countries, the highest fee in this ranking. Its startup program (pre-seed to Series A, or bootstrapped under 50 employees) saves up to $1,200 per team member over the first 12 months, and it charges no setup, onboarding or termination fees, but it requires a refundable deposit for each EOR team member.
Price: $29 - $699/employee/month
Cheapest paid
Employer of Record — USD 699/employee/month (annual discounts available; amount not published)
Verified
2026-10-13 · vendor source
Pros:
  • Startup discount of up to $1,200 per team member for the first 12 months, with no minimum hires
  • Setup, onboarding and terminations included in the subscription fee; no minimum number of team members
  • Global Contractors is free for 30 days, then USD 29/contractor/month
Cons:
  • USD 699/employee/month list price is the highest in this ranking
  • Refundable deposit required for each Employer of Record team member (amount not stated on the pricing page)
  • Annual discounts are available but the amount is not published
Quote-Led Option

Velocity Global

Velocity Global, now Pebl, lists EOR Standard at $399 per month per employee and says it covers EOR and payroll in 185+ countries. It ranks last for startups because each country's price is confirmed by quote and the pricing page publishes no deposit, contract-length or startup-discount terms to compare.
Price: $399 - $399/employee/month
Cheapest paid
EOR — $399/month per employee (price confirmed by quote)
Verified
2026-10-13 · vendor source
Pros:
  • EOR Standard listed at $399/month per employee
  • EOR and payroll in 185+ countries, per Pebl
  • Platform, Alfie AI assistant, reporting and integrations/API access included in the EOR fee
Cons:
  • Quote required to confirm the price for each country
  • No published deposit, contract-length or startup-discount terms
  • No published prices for contractors or standalone payroll

Evaluation Criteria

  • Published EOR Price

    Start from the per-employee monthly fee on the vendor's own pricing page and check whether it is month-to-month or needs annual billing, and whether it varies by country.

  • Deposits & Setup Fees

    Some providers require a refundable deposit per employee (Playroll: one month's salary) and some charge implementation fees 'as applicable' — both affect a startup's cash at the first hire.

  • Commitment

    Month-to-month billing, no minimum headcount and the right to cancel keep an early hire reversible if plans change.

  • Startup Discounts

    Remote and Oyster publish startup programs with eligibility rules and a 12-month window; confirm you qualify and what the price is after the discount ends.

  • Coverage & Employment Model

    Confirm the vendor can employ in your target country, and whether it uses its own legal entity there or an in-country partner.

How We Picked These

We evaluated 7 products and ranked the top 7 (last researched 2026-10-13).

Published EOR Price Weight: 5/5

The per-employee monthly EOR fee on the vendor's own pricing page, its billing basis (month-to-month or annual), and whether it varies by country

Upfront Cash Weight: 5/5

Security deposits, setup, onboarding and termination fees the vendor states — the cash a startup ties up at its first hire

Commitment Weight: 4/5

Month-to-month billing versus annual contracts, minimum headcount, and cancellation terms stated by the vendor

Startup Discounts Weight: 4/5

Discount programs for early-stage companies published on the vendor's own site, with eligibility and duration

Coverage & Employment Model Weight: 3/5

Countries the vendor says it can employ in, and whether it uses its own legal entities or in-country partners

Frequently Asked Questions

01 What is an Employer of Record (EOR) and why do startups use one?

An Employer of Record legally employs a worker on your behalf in a country where you have no entity. It issues a local employment contract, runs payroll, files taxes and statutory contributions, and administers benefits, while you direct the work. Startups use an EOR to make their first hires abroad without setting up a foreign subsidiary, paying a monthly fee per employee on top of salary and employer costs.

02 How much does an EOR cost for a startup?

Checked on vendor sites on October 13, 2026: RemoFirst from $199/employee/month (may vary by country); Playroll from $399; Velocity Global (Pebl) $399 with a country quote; Multiplier $499 month-to-month or $459 billed annually; Remote from $599 (15% off for 12 months for pre-seed to Series A startups); Deel $599; Oyster USD 699. Salary, employer statutory costs and benefits are paid on top of the fee.

03 Which EOR providers offer startup discounts?

Remote gives pre-seed, seed and Series A startups 15% off EOR and Contractor Management for the first 12 months, and says an investor introduction adds 5% more (up to 20%). Oyster's startup program saves up to $1,200 per team member over the first 12 months for pre-seed to Series A or bootstrapped companies under 50 employees. Deel's startup bundle makes U.S. payroll free for founders (first 5 seats, $500k+ raised) but does not discount EOR. Oyster and Multiplier also advertise limited-time '3 months free' offers for new customers that end December 31, 2026; Oyster's applies to EOR on annual billing for 2+ new hires.

04 Do EOR providers require a deposit?

Some do. Playroll requires a fully refundable security deposit equal to one month's salary per employee. Oyster requires a refundable deposit for EOR team members but does not state the amount on its pricing page. Remote charges no standard deposit, though it may ask for a refundable reserve in some cases. RemoFirst, Multiplier, Deel and Pebl do not state a deposit policy on their pricing pages, so ask before you sign.

05 Can a startup pay for an EOR month-to-month?

Yes, with most providers. Deel bills month-to-month and says you can cancel at any time. Playroll bills monthly with no minimum commitment, RemoFirst states no annual contracts and no minimums, and Multiplier's $499 Core rate is its monthly option (annual billing is $459). Oyster charges per active team member, with an optional seat-based annual plan at a reduced fee. Remote lists no annual-billing option or discount.

06 Which EOR covers the most countries?

By the vendors' own counts: RemoFirst and Pebl 185+, Playroll 180+, Multiplier 160+, Deel 130+ for EOR, Oyster 120+ and Remote 90+. The model differs too: Remote says it uses 100% owned entities and Multiplier says it uses its own legal entities, while RemoFirst works through vetted in-country partners. Confirm your target country before you commit.

07 What costs are not included in the EOR fee?

The fee covers the provider's service, not the employment cost. Salary, employer social contributions and statutory benefits are billed on top. Vendors also list extras: Multiplier adds an implementation fee and compliance-mandated add-ons 'as applicable' and has adjusted pricing in about 11% of countries; Playroll bills statutory costs and government charges separately; Oyster charges a currency conversion fee if you pay in a currency other than the contract currency; Remote adds 3.5% on card payments.

08 What is the difference between an EOR and a PEO?

An EOR employs workers for you in countries where you have no entity. A PEO (Professional Employer Organization) co-employs your staff in your home country — in the US, across states — to handle payroll, benefits and HR compliance. Some providers sell both: Deel's US PEO is $125/employee/month and Remote's starts at $99/employee/month.