Customer.io vs Outgrow Pricing (2026)
Compare / Customer.io vs Outgrow
Shortlist
Team size
25 seats

Customer.io vs Outgrow

Marketing Automation pricing comparison · 2026

Customer.io pricing ranges from $100–$1000/month, while Outgrow ranges from $0–$720/month. Outgrow is typically 92% more affordable, though your actual cost depends on tier and team size.

Visit
See pricing on each vendor's site
Above-the-fold path — each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
Visit Outgrow pricing Affiliate partner — does not affect ranking.
Compare
2 products · Marketing Automation
Side-by-side · live
Customer.io
Customer.
verified 3mo ago
$4.3K $6.5K
View pricing →
Outgrow
Outgrow is an interactive content platform that enables marketers to create quizzes, calcu
verified 7w ago
$4.3K $6.5K
View pricing →
Recorded annual contract medians
Outgrow median is $2.3K less than Customer.io · different customer contracts; not a quote
Cheapest $4.3K
Spread 35%
Estimated license cost
at 25 seats
List price × seats. Click a tier below to lock it.
Premium
$12K/yr
year 1 license · flat plan price
Freelancer Pro
$540/yr
year 1 license · flat plan price
What buyers actually pay
median, annual
Vendr deal-flow data. The real benchmark, not list price.
Median annual
$6.5K/yr
Vendr · n=14
↓ Lowest median
Median annual
$4.3K/yr
Vendr · n=0 · limited data avg 41% negotiated
REF · 01

Sources & confidence

Every dollar amount and contract clause below traces back to a sourced fact. We don't manufacture composite scores.

Where this data comes from
Vendr · TrustRadius · Reddit · BBB · official docs
Sources 19 sourced facts
13 hidden-cost · 4 contract · Vendr median · 1 review platform
Last verified 3mo ago
Confidence Medium confidence
Sources 15 sourced facts
10 hidden-cost · 2 contract · Vendr median · 2 review platforms
Last verified 1mo ago
Confidence Medium confidence
REF · 02

Plans at a glance

Every tier per product. Lock one to drive the cost row above and reveal a tier-specific outbound CTA.

Tier ladder
Click a tier to lock the cost row to it. Locking surfaces a tier-specific Visit CTA.
REF · 03

Hidden costs

Each cost is severity-ranked, with the dollar range quoted from its source (Vendr, Reddit, TrustRadius, BBB, official docs) — never our estimate.

Beyond the sticker
Severity-ranked, sourced
5 documented
  • Profile-based billing for inactive users
    15-25% of license costs
    2 sources
  • Continued profile creation after removal
    $500-$2,000
    1 source
  • Cost Prohibitive at Scale for Consumer Apps
    5-15% of license costs
    1 source
  • Dramatic Price Escalation at Renewal
    20-200% of license costs
    3 sources
  • High Integration and Engineering Setup Costs
    10-25% of license costs
    3 sources
5 documented
  • Lead Tier Caps Force Upgrades at Scale
    $70-$505/month for forced plan upgrades when lead caps are hit
    1 source
  • Key Features Gated Behind Higher Tiers
    $70-$575/month to access premium features not available on lower tiers
    1 source
  • Content Piece Limits on Lower Plans
    $70-$95/month upgrade to Essentials for unlimited content pieces
    1 source
  • Plan and Pricing Changes Without Clear Communication
    Variable — unexpected cost increases when plans are restructured
    1 source
  • Lead Add-On Costs When Hitting Tier Ceilings
    Custom pricing for lead add-ons — not publicly disclosed
    1 source
REF · 04

Contract terms

The fine print, surfaced. Green = buyer-friendly. Each clause backed by a quoted source.

Customer.io
Outgrow
Auto-renewal
Yes
Yes
Cancellation
No notification provided
Commitment
1 year (annual contracts required)
Price escalation
Users report prices nearly doubling every ~5 years with no grandfathering; at renewal, rates may triple unless a 2-year contract is signed
Annual plan pricing differs significantly from monthly (e.g., $300/year vs $540 for same monthly plan)
Can downgrade
No
REF · 05

What users say

Aggregated, with sample sizes. We use whichever review platform has data.

User reviews
TrustRadius · Trustpilot · G2
Trustpilot
1.6out of 5 (16)
Best for
Teams getting started with data-driven messaging
Watch out
Unexpected and steep price increases at renewal, sometimes 3x the current rate
TrustRadius
7.5out of 5 (64)
Trustpilot
2.2out of 5 (15)
Best for
Individuals testing Outgrow with basic forms and surveys before committing to a paid plan
Watch out
Pricing transparency - features cost more than advertised
Decide
Get a quote from each vendor
Each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
Visit Outgrow pricing Affiliate partner — does not affect ranking.
License cost is computed from publicly listed plans (real math, list price × seats). Median annual cost is from Vendr's deal flow when available — see source badges. Hidden costs and contract terms each cite their own sources. We do not invent composite scores.
Marketing Automation

Customer.io

$100–$1000
/month
3 plans
Full pricing breakdown →
VS
Marketing Automation

Outgrow

$0–$720
/month
6 plans · Free tier
Full pricing breakdown →

Customer.io and Outgrow both operate in the marketing automation category. This page compares their list pricing.

Plan-by-Plan Pricing

Plan Customer.io Outgrow
Essentials $100 /month Free /per month
Premium $1K /month $22 /per month
Enterprise Custom $45 /per month
Essentials $115 /per month
Business $720 /per month
Enterprise Custom

Cost at Scale

Total cost of ownership — licenses, implementation, and hidden costs included.

Customer.io

4 scenarios
$145/month
Growing SaaS (10,000 Profiles)
Essentials base $100/month + $45 for 5,000 additional profiles at $0.009 each
$1,000
E-commerce App (50,000 Profiles)
+/month - Premium tier with custom volume for 50,000 profiles across multiple object types, plus SMS costs
$425/month
Small Business (~5,000 Contacts)
See all 4 scenarios →

Outgrow

6 scenarios
$300/year ($25/month x 12 months on annual Freelancer Pro plan)
Solo Freelancer (Freelancer Pro, Annual Billing)
$1,140/year ($95/month x 12 months on annual Essentials plan)
Growing Marketing Team (Essentials, Annual Billing)
$7,200/year ($600/month x 12 months on annual Business plan)
Agency or Enterprise (Business, Annual Billing)
See all 6 scenarios →

Market Intelligence

Customer.io

Median annual cost
$6,500
Based on
14 deals

Outgrow

Median annual cost
$4,250
Average negotiated discount
41%

What Users Say

Customer.io

Trustpilot
1.6out of 5 (16)
Top complaints
  • Unexpected and steep price increases at renewal, sometimes 3x the current rate
  • Charged for inactive profiles and email-less user records
  • No phone support even at high spend levels; tickets frequently go unanswered

Outgrow

Trustpilot
2.2out of 5 (15)
TrustRadius
7.5out of 10 (64)
Top complaints
  • Pricing transparency - features cost more than advertised
  • Locked features requiring constant upgrades
  • Auto-renewal without notification

Hidden Costs

Beyond the sticker price — what catches buyers off guard.

Customer.io 7 hidden costs

high
Profile-based billing for inactive users 15-25% of license costs
critical
Continued profile creation after removal $500-$2,000
medium
Cost Prohibitive at Scale for Consumer Apps 5-15% of license costs
critical
Dramatic Price Escalation at Renewal 20-200% of license costs
high
High Integration and Engineering Setup Costs 10-25% of license costs
See all Customer.io hidden costs →

Outgrow 8 hidden costs

high
Lead Tier Caps Force Upgrades at Scale $70-$505/month for forced plan upgrades when lead caps are hit
high
Key Features Gated Behind Higher Tiers $70-$575/month to access premium features not available on lower tiers
medium
Content Piece Limits on Lower Plans $70-$95/month upgrade to Essentials for unlimited content pieces
medium
Plan and Pricing Changes Without Clear Communication Variable — unexpected cost increases when plans are restructured
medium
Lead Add-On Costs When Hitting Tier Ceilings Custom pricing for lead add-ons — not publicly disclosed
See all Outgrow hidden costs →

Contract Terms

Term Customer.io Outgrow
Auto-renewal Yes Yes
Cancellation No notification provided
Minimum commitment 1 year (annual contracts required)
Price escalation Users report prices nearly doubling every ~5 years with no grandfathering; at renewal, rates may triple unless a 2-year contract is signed Annual plan pricing differs significantly from monthly (e.g., $300/year vs $540 for same monthly plan)
Can downgrade No

Continue researching