Activepieces vs Zapier Pricing | Costbench
Compare / Activepieces vs Zapier
Shortlist
Team size
25 seats

Activepieces vs Zapier

AI Automation pricing comparison · 2026

Activepieces has a free plan, then $20–$200/mo, while Zapier has a free plan, then $19.99–$69/mo. Zapier is typically 60% more affordable, though your actual cost depends on tier and team size.

Visit
See pricing on each vendor's site
Above-the-fold path — each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
Compare
2 products · AI Automation
Side-by-side · live
Activepieces
Activepieces is an open-source workflow automation platform that connects apps and service
verified 14d ago
$120 $15K
View pricing →
Zapier
Zapier pricing starts at free and goes up to $103.
verified 5d ago
$120 $15K
View pricing →
Recorded annual contract medians
Activepieces median is $15K less than Zapier · different customer contracts; not a quote
Cheapest $120
Spread 99%
Estimated license cost
at 25 seats
List price × seats. Click a tier below to lock it.
Team
$2.4K/yr
year 1 license · flat plan price
Team
$828/yr
year 1 license · flat plan price
What buyers actually pay
median, annual
Vendr deal-flow data. The real benchmark, not list price.
↓ Lowest median
Median annual
$120/yr
Vendr · n=7 · limited data
Median annual
$15K/yr
Vendr · n=79 avg 25% negotiated
REF · 01

Sources & confidence

Every dollar amount and contract clause below traces back to a sourced fact. We don't manufacture composite scores.

Where this data comes from
Vendr · TrustRadius · Reddit · BBB · official docs
Sources 16 sourced facts
12 hidden-cost · 1 contract · Vendr median · 2 review platforms
Last verified 2w ago
Confidence Medium confidence
Sources 33 sourced facts
26 hidden-cost · 4 contract · Vendr median · 2 review platforms
Last verified 5d ago
Confidence High confidence
REF · 02

Plans at a glance

Every tier per product. Lock one to drive the cost row above and reveal a tier-specific outbound CTA.

Tier ladder
Click a tier to lock the cost row to it. Locking surfaces a tier-specific Visit CTA.
REF · 03

Hidden costs

Each cost is severity-ranked, with the dollar range quoted from its source (Vendr, Reddit, TrustRadius, BBB, official docs) — never our estimate.

Beyond the sticker
Severity-ranked, sourced
5 documented
  • Self-Hosting Infrastructure Costs
    $3-$10/month
    2 sources
  • Migration Costs from Other Platforms
    $30-$50/integration
    1 source
  • AppSumo Lifetime Deal Feature Degradation
    $228-$2,388
    3 sources
  • Server management and maintenance overhead
    5-10% of operational time
    1 source
  • Absent or Unreliable Customer Support
    5-15% of license costs
    2 sources
5 documented
  • Task Usage Cost Escalation
    20-50% of license costs
    4 sources
  • No Refund Policy on Annual Plans
    $240-$828
    4 sources
  • Multi-User Pricing Jump
    30-100% of license costs
    1 source
  • Third-Party Integration Surcharges
    5-20% of license costs
    1 source
  • Free Plan Feature Gating and Forced Trial Pressure
    $240-$588
    4 sources
REF · 04

Contract terms

The fine print, surfaced. Green = buyer-friendly. Each clause backed by a quoted source.

Activepieces
Zapier
Auto-renewal
—
Yes
Cancellation
—
Not publicly stated; users report no partial refunds are issued at any point after billing
Commitment
—
✓ Annual (monthly billing available at higher rates)
Price escalation
No published schedule
No published automatic uplift schedule; flat renewal rates available with pushback per Vendr
Can downgrade
—
✓ Yes
REF · 05

What users say

Aggregated, with sample sizes. We use whichever review platform has data.

User reviews
TrustRadius · Trustpilot · G2
TrustRadius
7out of 5 (1)
Trustpilot
3out of 5 (8)
Best for
Solo builders getting started with automation at no cost
Watch out
No customer support for issues on Activepieces' end
TrustRadius
8.9out of 5 (848)
Trustpilot
1.8out of 5 (25)
Best for
Individuals testing automation with simple, low-volume workflows
Watch out
Strict no-refund policy on annual and monthly plans
Decide
Get a quote from each vendor
Each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
License cost is computed from publicly listed plans (real math, list price × seats). Median annual cost is from Vendr's deal flow when available — see source badges. Hidden costs and contract terms each cite their own sources. We do not invent composite scores.
Option A

Activepieces

Free plan; paid $20–$200
/mo
5 plans · Free tier
Full pricing breakdown →
VS
Option B

Zapier

Free plan; paid $19.99–$69
/mo
4 plans · Free tier
Full pricing breakdown →

Plan-by-Plan Pricing

Plan Activepieces Zapier
Free Free /month Free /month
Plus $20 /month $19.99 /month
Team $200 /month $69 /month
Ultimate Custom Custom
Enterprise control Custom —

Cost at Scale

Total cost of ownership — licenses, implementation, and hidden costs included.

Activepieces

7 scenarios
$0/month
Startup with Light Automation
. Free plan (10 active flows, unlimited runs). Team uses only 8 flows, fitting within free tier. No execution limits.
$36
Small Team Self-Hosted (5 users)
$120 annually ($3-$10/month hosting only)
$60
Small Team Cloud-Hosted (Pro Plan)
annually ($5/month)
See all 7 scenarios →

Zapier

11 scenarios
$0/month (free tier with basic features)
Solo / Getting Started
$19.99/month
Growing Business
$69/month
Enterprise Setup
See all 11 scenarios →

Market Intelligence

Activepieces

Median annual cost
$120
Based on
7 deals

Zapier

Median annual cost
$15,000
Average negotiated discount
25%
Based on
79 deals

What Users Say

Activepieces

Trustpilot
3out of 5 (8)
TrustRadius
7out of 10 (1)
Top complaints
  • No customer support for issues on Activepieces' end
  • Poor leadership and broken promises to early adopters and community
  • AppSumo lifetime deal holders feel features are being degraded in favor of paying subscribers

Zapier

Trustpilot
1.8out of 5 (25)
TrustRadius
8.9out of 10 (848)
Top complaints
  • Strict no-refund policy on annual and monthly plans
  • Cost escalates rapidly as task volume and automation complexity grow
  • Outages and reliability issues causing duplicate records and workflow failures

Hidden Costs

Beyond the sticker price — what catches buyers off guard.

Activepieces 7 hidden costs

low
Self-Hosting Infrastructure Costs $3-$10/month
medium
Migration Costs from Other Platforms $30-$50/integration (source dated Dec 2024)
high
AppSumo Lifetime Deal Feature Degradation $228-$2,388 (source dated Jul 2025)
medium
Server management and maintenance overhead 5-10% of operational time
medium
Absent or Unreliable Customer Support 5-15% of license costs
See all Activepieces hidden costs →

Zapier 10 hidden costs

high
Task Usage Cost Escalation 20-50% of license costs
high
No Refund Policy on Annual Plans $240-$828
medium
Multi-User Pricing Jump 30-100% of license costs
medium
Third-Party Integration Surcharges 5-20% of license costs
low
Free Plan Feature Gating and Forced Trial Pressure $240-$588
See all Zapier hidden costs →

Contract Terms

Term Activepieces Zapier
Auto-renewal — Yes
Cancellation — Not publicly stated; users report no partial refunds are issued at any point after billing
Minimum commitment — Annual (monthly billing available at higher rates)
Price escalation No published schedule No published automatic uplift schedule; flat renewal rates available with pushback per Vendr
Can downgrade — Yes

Continue researching