ADP vs Personio Pricing (2026)
Compare / ADP vs Personio
Shortlist
Team size
25 seats

ADP vs Personio

HR/HRIS pricing comparison · 2026

ADP is quote-based, while Personio is quote-based. Personio is typically 93% more affordable, though your actual cost depends on tier and team size.

Visit
See pricing on each vendor's site
Above-the-fold path — each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
Compare
2 products · HR/HRIS
Side-by-side · live
ADP
ADP is one of the largest and most established payroll and HR solutions providers in the w
verified 3d ago
View pricing →
Personio
Personio pricing is custom and requires a sales quote as of April 2026.
verified 10w ago
View pricing →
Estimated license cost
at 25 seats
List price × seats. Click a tier below to lock it.
Pricing model unknown
Pricing model unknown
no public list price found
Pricing model unknown
Pricing model unknown
no public list price found
What buyers actually pay
median, annual
Vendr deal-flow data. The real benchmark, not list price.
Median annual
$51K/yr
Vendr · n=11 avg 22% negotiated
No Vendr data
—
Not in Vendr's deal flow
REF · 01

Sources & confidence

Every dollar amount and contract clause below traces back to a sourced fact. We don't manufacture composite scores.

Where this data comes from
Vendr · TrustRadius · Reddit · BBB · official docs
Sources 12 sourced facts
9 hidden-cost · 1 contract · Vendr median · 1 review platform
Last verified 3d ago
Confidence High confidence
Sources 18 sourced facts
14 hidden-cost · 2 contract · 2 review platforms
Last verified 2mo ago
Confidence Medium confidence
REF · 02

Plans at a glance

Every tier per product. Lock one to drive the cost row above and reveal a tier-specific outbound CTA.

Tier ladder
Click a tier to lock the cost row to it. Locking surfaces a tier-specific Visit CTA.
REF · 03

Hidden costs

Each cost is severity-ranked, with the dollar range quoted from its source (Vendr, Reddit, TrustRadius, BBB, official docs) — never our estimate.

Beyond the sticker
Severity-ranked, sourced
5 documented
  • Cancellation Fees & Continued Billing During Cancellation Period
    $500-$5,000
    2 sources
  • Implementation Errors & Tax Correction Costs
    10-25% of license costs
    2 sources
  • Upsell Add-On Packages
    15-30% of license costs
    1 source
  • Payroll Error Remediation Costs
    5-15% of license costs
    2 sources
  • Opaque Per-Employee Pricing
    $4-$10/user/month
    2 sources
5 documented
  • Forced Minimum License Count
    20-50% of license costs
    1 source
  • Annual Price Increases
    5-7%
    3 sources
  • Limited Payroll Customization
    $1,000-$5,000
    1 source
  • International Payroll Integration Gaps
    5-10% of license costs
    1 source
  • Undisclosed Plan-Level Feature Limitations
    5-15% of license costs
    1 source
REF · 04

Contract terms

The fine print, surfaced. Green = buyer-friendly. Each clause backed by a quoted source.

ADP
Personio
Auto-renewal
Yes
Yes
Cancellation
Not publicly disclosed; users report continued billing throughout cancellation period
Formal written notice required within contract-specified window; email and web form submissions have been deemed legally insufficient by Personio — confirm exact required format in your contract
Commitment
Annual contract typical
1 year (annual contracts standard)
Price escalation
No published schedule; users report difficulty exiting contracts
Multiple customers report significant price increases at renewal with little notice; one customer's documented 11-month-advance rejection was not honored and they were forced into another annual term at the higher rate
Can downgrade
—
No
REF · 05

What users say

Aggregated, with sample sizes. We use whichever review platform has data.

User reviews
TrustRadius · Trustpilot · G2
Trustpilot
1out of 5 (25)
Watch out
Extremely difficult to cancel service; large cancellation fees and continued billing
TrustRadius
8.7out of 5 (13)
Trustpilot
1.7out of 5 (24)
Best for
Small businesses (10-100 employees) needing core HR management
Watch out
Frequent unannounced price increases with little or no advance notice
Decide
Get a quote from each vendor
Each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
License cost is computed from publicly listed plans (real math, list price × seats). Median annual cost is from Vendr's deal flow when available — see source badges. Hidden costs and contract terms each cite their own sources. We do not invent composite scores.
HR/HRIS

ADP

Custom pricing
4 plans
Full pricing breakdown →
VS
HR/HRIS

Personio

Custom pricing
3 plans
Full pricing breakdown →

ADP and Personio both operate in the hr/hris category. This page compares their list pricing.

Plan-by-Plan Pricing

Plan ADP Personio
Complete Payroll & HR+ Custom Custom
Enhanced Payroll Custom Custom
Essential Payroll Custom Custom
HR Pro Payroll & HR Custom —

Cost at Scale

Total cost of ownership — licenses, implementation, and hidden costs included.

ADP

6 scenarios
$79/month
Starter Setup
$79/month
Growing Business
plus potential add-ons
Custom pricing — typically negotiated annually, contact sales for quote
Enterprise (100+ users)
See all 6 scenarios →

Personio

3 scenarios
$6/month
Starter Setup
$8/month
Growing Business
Custom pricing — typically negotiated annually, contact sales for quote
Enterprise (100+ users)

What Users Say

ADP

Trustpilot
1out of 5 (25)
Top complaints
  • Extremely difficult to cancel service; large cancellation fees and continued billing
  • Payroll errors including missing checks and incorrect direct deposits
  • Tax filing mistakes leading to IRS and state tax penalties

Personio

Trustpilot
1.7out of 5 (24)
TrustRadius
8.7out of 10 (13)
Top complaints
  • Frequent unannounced price increases with little or no advance notice
  • Forced contract auto-renewals despite documented cancellation attempts
  • Poor, slow, and unresponsive customer support — account managers often unreachable

Hidden Costs

Beyond the sticker price — what catches buyers off guard.

ADP 5 hidden costs

critical
Cancellation Fees & Continued Billing During Cancellation Period $500-$5,000
high
Implementation Errors & Tax Correction Costs 10-25% of license costs
medium
Upsell Add-On Packages 15-30% of license costs
high
Payroll Error Remediation Costs 5-15% of license costs
medium
Opaque Per-Employee Pricing $4-$10/user/month
See all ADP hidden costs →

Personio 10 hidden costs

high
Forced Minimum License Count 20-50% of license costs
medium
Annual Price Increases 5-7%
low
Limited Payroll Customization $1,000-$5,000
medium
International Payroll Integration Gaps 5-10% of license costs
high
Undisclosed Plan-Level Feature Limitations 5-15% of license costs
See all Personio hidden costs →

Contract Terms

Term ADP Personio
Auto-renewal Yes Yes
Cancellation Not publicly disclosed; users report continued billing throughout cancellation period Formal written notice required within contract-specified window; email and web form submissions have been deemed legally insufficient by Personio — confirm exact required format in your contract
Minimum commitment Annual contract typical 1 year (annual contracts standard)
Price escalation No published schedule; users report difficulty exiting contracts Multiple customers report significant price increases at renewal with little notice; one customer's documented 11-month-advance rejection was not honored and they were forced into another annual term at the higher rate
Can downgrade — No

Continue researching