Shepherd Pricing 2026
Complete pricing guide with plans, hidden costs, and cost analysis
Shepherd plans start at $99. Enterprise groups is quote-based.
Are you Shepherd? Claim this profile
Is Shepherd a fit?
Derived from this product's own pricing and contract record — not a review.
Best for
- Small practices with 2-3 veterinarians
- Solo veterinary practitioners
Not a fit if
- The sticker price is your whole budget — Data Migration Fees.
All Shepherd Plans & Pricing
Some prices not re-verified — only plans marked “checked” were confirmed on the vendor’s pricing page
| Plan | Monthly | Annual | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|
| Additional Vets not re-verified | $99 per additional vet/month | Not published | Small practices with 2-3 veterinarians |
| Not re-verified · catalog record from July 2026
Get this price at Shepherd →
| |||
| What's included at Additional Vets Best for: Small practices with 2-3 veterinarians
| |||
| Multi-location group, per location, with Shepherd Pay checked Nov 3, 2026 | $199 /month | Not published | Not specified |
| Verified on Shepherd's pricing page · checked Nov 3, 2026 $199/mo: “Each location is $249 a month, or $199 when every location uses Shepherd Pay.”
Get this price at Shepherd →
| |||
| Multi-location group, per location, without Shepherd Pay checked Nov 3, 2026 | $249 /month | Not published | Not specified |
| Verified on Shepherd's pricing page · checked Nov 3, 2026 $249/mo: “Each location is $249 a month, or $199 when every location uses Shepherd Pay.”
Get this price at Shepherd →
| |||
| Single Vet not re-verified | $299 /month for first vet | Not published | Solo veterinary practitioners |
| Not re-verified · catalog record from July 2026
Get this price at Shepherd →
| |||
| What's included at Single Vet Best for: Solo veterinary practitioners
| |||
| Nonprofits checked Nov 3, 2026 | $299 /month | Not published | Not specified |
| Verified on Shepherd's pricing page · checked Nov 3, 2026 $299/mo: “A flat $299 a month, no matter how many doctors or users you have.”
Get this price at Shepherd →
| |||
| Single-location practice, with Shepherd Pay (per doctor) checked Nov 3, 2026 | $299 /user/month | Not published | Not specified |
| Verified on Shepherd's pricing page · checked Nov 3, 2026 $299/user/mo: “Shepherd starts at $299 a month for one doctor with Shepherd Pay, or $349 without.”
Get this price at Shepherd →
| |||
| Single-location practice, without Shepherd Pay (per doctor) checked Nov 3, 2026 | $349 /user/month | Not published | Not specified |
| Verified on Shepherd's pricing page · checked Nov 3, 2026 $349/user/mo: “Shepherd starts at $299 a month for one doctor with Shepherd Pay, or $349 without.”
Get this price at Shepherd →
| |||
| Teaching hospitals, per location checked Nov 3, 2026 | $399 /month | Not published | Not specified |
| Verified on Shepherd's pricing page · checked Nov 3, 2026 $399/mo: “$399 a month per location for veterinary colleges and universities using Shepherd for teaching.”
Get this price at Shepherd →
| |||
| Enterprise groups checked Nov 3, 2026 | Contact Sales | Contact Sales | Not specified |
| Verified on Shepherd's pricing page · checked Nov 3, 2026 Custom: “Corporate and enterprise groups get pricing built around their organization.”
Get this price at Shepherd →
| |||
View all features by plan (compare side-by-side)
Additional Vets
- Same features as Single Vet
- Per additional veterinarian
- Scales with practice size
Multi-location group, per location, with Shepherd Pay
Multi-location group, per location, without Shepherd Pay
Single Vet
- Cloud-based PIMS
- AI-powered medical records
- Unlimited users
- No migration fees
- No training fees
- All features included
Nonprofits
Single-location practice, with Shepherd Pay (per doctor)
Single-location practice, without Shepherd Pay (per doctor)
Teaching hospitals, per location
Enterprise groups
Track Shepherd pricing
Get an email when Shepherd's pricing changes — plus the weekly SaaS Price Watch: verified price changes and deals across 3,000+ products. One-click unsubscribe.
You're on the list — first digest lands Tuesday.
List price by tier (annualized, per license)
Per-license list price across Shepherd's plans, annualized. Custom-priced tiers show a hatched bar.
Buyers actually pay a median of $692/yr for Shepherd contracts (Vendr deal flow, n=115). That's a contract total — the more seats, the more leverage to negotiate down.
Shepherd plans start at $99. Enterprise groups is quote-based. Plans: Additional Vets at $99 per additional vet/month, Multi-location group, per location, with Shepherd Pay at $199/month, Multi-location group, per location, without Shepherd Pay at $249/month, Single Vet at $299/month for first vet, Nonprofits at $299/month, Single-location practice, with Shepherd Pay (per doctor) at $299/user/month, Single-location practice, without Shepherd Pay (per doctor) at $349/user/month, and Teaching hospitals, per location at $399/month. Custom pricing is available on request. The median contract is $692/year based on 115 community cost mentions.
Use the interactive pricing calculator to estimate your exact cost based on team size and requirements.
- Free tier: No free tier available
Shepherd offers 9 pricing tiers: Additional Vets, Multi-location group, per location, with Shepherd Pay, Multi-location group, per location, without Shepherd Pay, Single Vet, Nonprofits, Single-location practice, with Shepherd Pay (per doctor), Single-location practice, without Shepherd Pay (per doctor), Teaching hospitals, per location, Enterprise groups. Paid plans include Additional Vets at $99 per additional vet/month, Multi-location group, per location, with Shepherd Pay at $199/month, Multi-location group, per location, without Shepherd Pay at $249/month.
Compared to other veterinary software software, Shepherd is positioned at the premium price point.
- Median contract: $692/yr from 115 purchases Precise
- 6 documented hidden costs beyond list price
- Contracts auto-renew — fourteen (14) days' notice
How much does Shepherd cost?
Shepherd Pricing Overview
Shepherd plans start at $99. Enterprise groups is quote-based. The Additional Vets plan costs $99 per additional vet/month, best for small practices with 2-3 veterinarians. The Multi-location group, per location, with Shepherd Pay plan costs $199/month. The Multi-location group, per location, without Shepherd Pay plan costs $249/month. The Single Vet plan costs $299/month for first vet, best for solo veterinary practitioners. The Nonprofits plan costs $299/month. The Single-location practice, with Shepherd Pay (per doctor) plan costs $299/user/month. The Single-location practice, without Shepherd Pay (per doctor) plan costs $349/user/month. The Teaching hospitals, per location plan costs $399/month. The Enterprise groups plan requires contacting sales for a custom quote.
Shepherd contracts auto-renew, requiring fourteen (14) days' notice notice to cancel.
The median Shepherd customer pays $692/year based on 115 community cost mentions.
There are at least 6 documented hidden costs beyond Shepherd's list price, including implementation, training, and add-on fees.
This pricing was last verified in July 11, 2026.
Shepherd pricing starts at $299/mo.
How Shepherd Pricing Compares
Compare Shepherd pricing against top alternatives in Veterinary Software.
Compare Shepherd vs Alternatives
Before committing to Shepherd, compare pricing with these 3 alternatives in the same category.
Mobile-only veterinary practices
Full comparisonEstablished veterinary practices preferring owned software over subscriptions
Full comparisonVeterinary practices wanting AI-powered efficiency and comprehensive cloud-based management
Full comparisonWhat Companies Actually Pay for Shepherd
The median Shepherd buyer pays $692/year based on 115 community cost mentions.
How Shepherd Pricing Compares
| Software | Starting Price | Top Price |
|---|---|---|
| Shepherd | $99/month | $399/month |
| AVImark | Custom | Custom |
| Covetrus Pulse | $200/month | $600/month |
| DaySmart Vet | $123/month | $123/month |
| Digitail | Custom | Custom |
| eVetPractice | $200/month | $600/month |
Detailed pricing comparisons:
Shepherd Contract Terms
Shepherd contracts auto-renew. Changes require fourteen (14) days' notice. These terms are sourced from verified buyer experiences.
How to Negotiate Shepherd Pricing
Shepherd contracts are negotiable. These 3 tactics are sourced from real buyer experiences and procurement specialists.
Thoroughly understand your current needs and usage to avoid purchasing unnecessary features.
https://vendr.comView negotiations as a collaborative process where both parties aim for a fair outcome, rather than a competitive one.
https://vendr.comObtain bids and preliminary contract details from at least three different products to compare options.
https://vendr.comShepherd Pricing FAQ
01 How much does Shepherd veterinary software cost?
Shepherd pricing starts at $299/month for a one-doctor practice, with each additional veterinarian costing $99/month more. Practices with four or more doctors should contact Shepherd for custom pricing. All plans include unlimited staff users, migration, training, and all features with no extra charges.
02 Does Shepherd charge per user?
No, Shepherd pricing is per veterinarian, not per user. You can have unlimited staff members, technicians, and administrators at no additional cost. Only additional veterinarians increase the monthly price.
03 What AI features does Shepherd include?
Shepherd includes TranscribeAI which automatically generates SOAP notes directly in the system, and DiagnoseAI which offers evidence-backed treatment suggestions. These AI tools are included at no extra cost and help save significant time on documentation.
04 Does Shepherd have a free trial?
Yes, Shepherd offers a free trial with no credit card required. This allows practices to test the software and evaluate if it meets their needs before committing to a subscription.
05 Are there setup or migration fees for Shepherd?
No, Shepherd includes migration and training at no extra cost. There are no setup fees, no migration fees, and no training fees. All features are included in the base subscription price.
06 Does Shepherd include payment processing?
Yes, Shepherd has an integrated payment processing solution. However, practices may pay higher processing fees when using Shepherd's payment platform, and can opt to use alternative payment processors if preferred.
Is this pricing incorrect? — we'll verify and update it.