Claude vs Grok Pricing (2026)
Compare / Claude vs Grok
Shortlist
Team size
25 seats

Claude vs Grok

AI Chatbots pricing comparison · 2026

Claude has a free plan, then from $20/mo, while Grok has a free plan, then $8–$200/mo. Both products are similarly priced at comparable tiers.

Visit
See pricing on each vendor's site
Above-the-fold path — each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
Compare
2 products · AI Chatbots
Side-by-side · live
Claude
As of October 20, 2026, Claude costs $0 (Free), $20/month for Pro ($17/month billed annual
verified 1d ago
$7.5K $9.0K
View pricing →
Grok
As of October 10, 2026, xAI sells Grok as Free ($0), SuperGrok ($30/month) and SuperGrok P
verified 1d ago
$7.5K $9.0K
View pricing →
Annual license estimate
Claude costs $1.5K less than Grok · 25 seats where applicable
Cheapest $7.5K
Spread 17%
Estimated license cost
at 25 seats
List price × seats. Click a tier below to lock it.
Team Standard seat
$7.5K/yr
year 1 license · $25/seat
Premium
$9.0K/yr
year 1 license · $30/seat
REF · 01

Sources & confidence

Every dollar amount and contract clause below traces back to a sourced fact. We don't manufacture composite scores.

Where this data comes from
Vendr · TrustRadius · Reddit · BBB · official docs
Sources 37 sourced facts
33 hidden-cost · 3 contract · 1 review platform
Last verified 1d ago
Confidence Medium confidence
Sources 9 sourced facts
8 hidden-cost · 1 contract
Last verified 1d ago
Confidence Medium confidence
REF · 02

Plans at a glance

Every tier per product. Lock one to drive the cost row above and reveal a tier-specific outbound CTA.

Tier ladder
Click a tier to lock the cost row to it. Locking surfaces a tier-specific Visit CTA.
REF · 03

Hidden costs

Each cost is severity-ranked, with the dollar range quoted from its source (Vendr, Reddit, TrustRadius, BBB, official docs) — never our estimate.

Beyond the sticker
Severity-ranked, sourced
5 documented
  • Pro Plan Usage Limits Exhausted After Just 2-3 Prompts
    $80-$180/month
    4 sources
  • Session Context Cache Write Costs Consume Usage Budget on Resume
    15-30% of session usage budget
    1 source
  • Non-Refundable Auto-Funded API Credits
    $50
    1 source
  • No Human Customer Support — AI Bot Only
    5-15% of license costs
    3 sources
  • Opaque Usage Limits That Deplete Rapidly
    $80-$180
    4 sources
5 documented
  • Thinking Token Costs on API (Grok 4)
    50-200% of base API costs
    1 source
  • Verbose Responses Increase Per-Token API Costs
    10-30% of license costs
    1 source
  • X Premium Required for Some Grok Access
    $10/month vs SuperGrok standalone
    1 source
  • Twitter/X API Costs for Third-Party Grok Integrations
    5-20% of license costs
    1 source
  • Context Window Pricing Tiers on API
    200-300% above base rate for long-context usage
    1 source
REF · 04

Contract terms

The fine print, surfaced. Green = buyer-friendly. Each clause backed by a quoted source.

Claude
Grok
Auto-renewal
Yes
—
Cancellation
Not publicly disclosed; users report difficulty locating cancellation options and unexpected auto-renewals
—
Commitment
✓ Monthly (annual billing optional for Pro and Team plans at a discount)
—
Price escalation
No published escalation schedule; historically Claude Code pricing increased from $20/month to $200/month (10x) in 2025. HN sources note Anthropic has incrementally raised API pricing across successive model versions.
No published schedule; API token prices have changed without announcement (e.g. the Grok 4.5 cache price was quietly cut with no public notice)
Can downgrade
—
—
REF · 05

What users say

Aggregated, with sample sizes. We use whichever review platform has data.

User reviews
TrustRadius · Trustpilot · G2
Trustpilot
1.04out of 5 (25)
Best for
Casual users who want to try Claude with light daily usage
Watch out
Accounts permanently banned without prior warning or explanation, with refunds denied and appeals rejected
No public ratings yet
Best for
X users wanting basic Grok access bundled with social media features
Watch out
Headline API pricing is misleading — thinking tokens and context-tiered pricing significantly inflate real costs
Decide
Get a quote from each vendor
Each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
License cost is computed from publicly listed plans (real math, list price × seats). Median annual cost is from Vendr's deal flow when available — see source badges. Hidden costs and contract terms each cite their own sources. We do not invent composite scores.
AI Chatbots

Claude

Free plan; paid from $20
/mo
7 plans · Free tier
Full pricing breakdown →
VS
AI Chatbots

Grok

Free plan; paid $8–$200
/mo
4 plans
Full pricing breakdown →

Claude and Grok both operate in the ai chatbots category. This page compares their list pricing.

Plan-by-Plan Pricing

Plan Claude Grok
Free Free /month $8 /month
Pro $20 /month $30 /month
Enterprise Custom $100 /month
Team Standard seat $25 /user/month $200 /month
Max $100 /month —
Team Premium seat $125 /user/month —
Ultra $200 /month —

Cost at Scale

Total cost of ownership — licenses, implementation, and hidden costs included.

Claude

11 scenarios
$0/month
Individual Casual User — Free Plan
$20/month ($240/year)
Individual Professional — Pro Plan
$100
Power User or Developer — Max Plan
$200/month ($1,200-$2,400/year)
See all 11 scenarios →

Grok

7 scenarios
$360/year (SuperGrok annual)
Individual Power User (SuperGrok)
or $30/month
$480/year ($40/month X Premium+)
X Platform User with AI Access (X Premium+)
$1,200/year ($100/month SuperGrok Plus)
Heavy AI Power User (SuperGrok Plus)
See all 7 scenarios →

Hidden Costs

Beyond the sticker price — what catches buyers off guard.

Claude 11 hidden costs

critical
Pro Plan Usage Limits Exhausted After Just 2-3 Prompts $80-$180/month
high
Session Context Cache Write Costs Consume Usage Budget on Resume 15-30% of session usage budget
medium
Non-Refundable Auto-Funded API Credits $50
high
No Human Customer Support — AI Bot Only 5-15% of license costs
high
Opaque Usage Limits That Deplete Rapidly $80-$180
See all Claude hidden costs →

Grok 8 hidden costs

high
Thinking Token Costs on API (Grok 4) 50-200% of base API costs
medium
Verbose Responses Increase Per-Token API Costs 10-30% of license costs
low
X Premium Required for Some Grok Access
medium
Twitter/X API Costs for Third-Party Grok Integrations 5-20% of license costs
high
Context Window Pricing Tiers on API 200-300% above base rate for long-context usage
See all Grok hidden costs →

Contract Terms

Term Claude Grok
Auto-renewal Yes —
Cancellation Not publicly disclosed; users report difficulty locating cancellation options and unexpected auto-renewals —
Minimum commitment Monthly (annual billing optional for Pro and Team plans at a discount) —
Price escalation No published escalation schedule; historically Claude Code pricing increased from $20/month to $200/month (10x) in 2025. HN sources note Anthropic has incrementally raised API pricing across successive model versions. No published schedule; API token prices have changed without announcement (e.g. the Grok 4.5 cache price was quietly cut with no public notice)

Continue researching