Poe vs Claude Pricing (2026)
Compare / Poe vs Claude
Shortlist
Team size
25 seats

Poe vs Claude

AI Chatbots pricing comparison · 2026

Poe pricing ranges from $0–$249.99/month, while Claude ranges from $0–$200/user/month. Poe is typically 50% more affordable, though your actual cost depends on tier and team size.

Visit
See pricing on each vendor's site
Above-the-fold path — each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
Compare
2 products · AI Chatbots
Side-by-side · live
Poe
Poe costs $4.
verified 29d ago
$300 $30K
View pricing →
Claude
As of October 20, 2026, Claude costs $0 (Free), $20/month for Pro ($17/month billed annual
verified 6d ago
$300 $30K
View pricing →
Annual license estimate
Poe costs $24K less than Claude · 25 seats where applicable
Cheapest $6.0K
Spread 80%
Estimated license cost
at 25 seats
List price × seats. Click a tier below to lock it.
Premium
$6.0K/yr
year 1 license · $20/seat
Max 5x
$30K/yr
year 1 license · $100/seat
What buyers actually pay
median, annual
Vendr deal-flow data. The real benchmark, not list price.
Median annual
$300/yr
Vendr · n=126
No Vendr data
—
Not in Vendr's deal flow
REF · 01

Sources & confidence

Every dollar amount and contract clause below traces back to a sourced fact. We don't manufacture composite scores.

Where this data comes from
Vendr · TrustRadius · Reddit · BBB · official docs
Sources 13 sourced facts
7 hidden-cost · 4 contract · Vendr median · 1 review platform
Last verified 4w ago
Confidence Medium confidence
Sources 37 sourced facts
33 hidden-cost · 3 contract · 1 review platform
Last verified 6d ago
Confidence Medium confidence
REF · 02

Plans at a glance

Every tier per product. Lock one to drive the cost row above and reveal a tier-specific outbound CTA.

Tier ladder
Click a tier to lock the cost row to it. Locking surfaces a tier-specific Visit CTA.
REF · 03

Hidden costs

Each cost is severity-ranked, with the dollar range quoted from its source (Vendr, Reddit, TrustRadius, BBB, official docs) — never our estimate.

Beyond the sticker
Severity-ranked, sourced
5 documented
  • Compute Point Consumption Rate
    $30 per 1,000,000 points
    1 source
  • Reduced Point Allowance
    34%
    1 source
  • Unused Points Expiration
    1 source
  • Maintenance and Retraining
    10-20%
    1 source
  • Token/Usage Overages
    $50 to $2,000+
    1 source
5 documented
  • Pro Plan Usage Limits Exhausted After Just 2-3 Prompts
    $80-$180/month
    4 sources
  • Session Context Cache Write Costs Consume Usage Budget on Resume
    15-30% of session usage budget
    1 source
  • Non-Refundable Auto-Funded API Credits
    $50
    1 source
  • No Human Customer Support — AI Bot Only
    5-15% of license costs
    3 sources
  • Opaque Usage Limits That Deplete Rapidly
    $80-$180
    4 sources
REF · 04

Contract terms

The fine print, surfaced. Green = buyer-friendly. Each clause backed by a quoted source.

Poe
Claude
Auto-renewal
Yes
Yes
Cancellation
—
Not publicly disclosed; users report difficulty locating cancellation options and unexpected auto-renewals
Commitment
—
✓ Monthly (annual billing optional for Pro and Team plans at a discount)
Price escalation
Users report price increases occurring twice within a year period, with some forced to upgrade from HK$399/year to HK$1,600/year mid-subscription
No published escalation schedule; historically Claude Code pricing increased from $20/month to $200/month (10x) in 2025. HN sources note Anthropic has incrementally raised API pricing across successive model versions.
Can downgrade
No
—
REF · 05

What users say

Aggregated, with sample sizes. We use whichever review platform has data.

User reviews
TrustRadius · Trustpilot · G2
Trustpilot
1.3out of 5 (22)
Best for
Casual users exploring AI chatbots
Watch out
Point system depletes too quickly even on paid plans
Trustpilot
1.04out of 5 (25)
Best for
Casual users who want to try Claude with light daily usage
Watch out
Accounts permanently banned without prior warning or explanation, with refunds denied and appeals rejected
Decide
Get a quote from each vendor
Each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
License cost is computed from publicly listed plans (real math, list price × seats). Median annual cost is from Vendr's deal flow when available — see source badges. Hidden costs and contract terms each cite their own sources. We do not invent composite scores.
AI Chatbots

Poe

$0–$249.99
/month
6 plans · Free tier
Full pricing breakdown →
VS
AI Chatbots

Claude

$0–$200
/user/month
7 plans · Free tier
Full pricing breakdown →

Poe and Claude both operate in the ai chatbots category. This page compares their list pricing.

Plan-by-Plan Pricing

Plan Poe Claude
Free Free /month Free /user/month
Starter $4.99 /month $20 /user/month
Premium $19.99 /month $100 /user/month
Premium Plus $49.99 /month $200 /user/month
Pro $99.99 /month $25 /user/month
Pro Max $249.99 /month $125 /user/month
Enterprise — Custom

What Users Say

Poe

Trustpilot
1.3out of 5 (22)
Top complaints
  • Point system depletes too quickly even on paid plans
  • No refund policy even for technical failures
  • Bot pricing inflation (20 points → 373 points)

Claude

Trustpilot
1.04out of 5 (25)
Top complaints
  • Accounts permanently banned without prior warning or explanation, with refunds denied and appeals rejected
  • Billing errors including duplicate charges, unauthorized transactions, and cross-account charges with no resolution
  • Human customer support inaccessible without an active paid subscription, creating a catch-22 for users with billing problems

Hidden Costs

Beyond the sticker price — what catches buyers off guard.

Poe 7 hidden costs

high
Compute Point Consumption Rate $30 per 1,000,000 points
critical
Reduced Point Allowance 34%
medium
Unused Points Expiration
medium
Maintenance and Retraining 10-20%
high
Token/Usage Overages $50 to $2,000+
See all Poe hidden costs →

Claude 11 hidden costs

critical
Pro Plan Usage Limits Exhausted After Just 2-3 Prompts $80-$180/month
high
Session Context Cache Write Costs Consume Usage Budget on Resume 15-30% of session usage budget
medium
Non-Refundable Auto-Funded API Credits $50
high
No Human Customer Support — AI Bot Only 5-15% of license costs
high
Opaque Usage Limits That Deplete Rapidly $80-$180
See all Claude hidden costs →

Contract Terms

Term Poe Claude
Auto-renewal Yes Yes
Cancellation — Not publicly disclosed; users report difficulty locating cancellation options and unexpected auto-renewals
Minimum commitment — Monthly (annual billing optional for Pro and Team plans at a discount)
Price escalation Users report price increases occurring twice within a year period, with some forced to upgrade from HK$399/year to HK$1,600/year mid-subscription No published escalation schedule; historically Claude Code pricing increased from $20/month to $200/month (10x) in 2025. HN sources note Anthropic has incrementally raised API pricing across successive model versions.
Can downgrade No —

Continue researching