Plaid vs Stoplight Pricing | Costbench
Compare / Plaid vs Stoplight
Shortlist
Team size
25 seats

Plaid vs Stoplight

API Management pricing comparison · 2026

Plaid is quote-based, while Stoplight costs $56–$453/mo.

Visit
See pricing on each vendor's site
Above-the-fold path — each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
Compare
2 products · API Management
Side-by-side · live
Plaid
Plaid is a financial data aggregation platform that enables developers to connect user ban
verified 3mo ago
$2.5K $9.0K
View pricing →
Stoplight
Stoplight is a collaborative API design and documentation platform that enables teams to d
verified 1d ago
$2.5K $9.0K
View pricing →
Recorded annual contract medians
Stoplight median is $6.5K less than Plaid · different customer contracts; not a quote
Cheapest $2.5K
Spread 72%
Estimated license cost
at 25 seats
List price × seats. Click a tier below to lock it.
Pricing model unknown
Pricing model unknown
no public list price found
Startup
$1.8K/yr
year 1 license · flat plan price
What buyers actually pay
median, annual
Vendr deal-flow data. The real benchmark, not list price.
Median annual
$9.0K/yr
Vendr · n=39
↓ Lowest median
Median annual
$2.5K/yr
Vendr · n=70
REF · 01

Sources & confidence

Every dollar amount and contract clause below traces back to a sourced fact. We don't manufacture composite scores.

Where this data comes from
Vendr · TrustRadius · Reddit · BBB · official docs
Sources 13 sourced facts
10 hidden-cost · 1 contract · Vendr median · 1 review platform
Last verified 3mo ago
Confidence Limited confidence
Sources 5 sourced facts
2 contract · Vendr median · 2 review platforms
Last verified 1d ago
Confidence Medium confidence
REF · 02

Plans at a glance

Every tier per product. Lock one to drive the cost row above and reveal a tier-specific outbound CTA.

Tier ladder
Click a tier to lock the cost row to it. Locking surfaces a tier-specific Visit CTA.
REF · 03

Hidden costs

Each cost is severity-ranked, with the dollar range quoted from its source (Vendr, Reddit, TrustRadius, BBB, official docs) — never our estimate.

Beyond the sticker
Severity-ranked, sourced
5 documented
  • Premium Support Contract
    $500-$2,000/month
    1 source
  • Monthly Minimum Requirements
    $1,000/month minimum for business use
    1 source
  • Opaque Per-Connection Pricing
    5-20% of license costs
    1 source
  • European/International Access Requires Sales Negotiation
    5-15% of license costs
    2 sources
  • Poor Support with Long Response Times
    5-10% of license costs
    3 sources
No hidden costs documented
REF · 04

Contract terms

The fine print, surfaced. Green = buyer-friendly. Each clause backed by a quoted source.

Plaid
Stoplight
Auto-renewal
—
Yes
Cancellation
—
typically 30-180 days before renewal
Commitment
—
—
Price escalation
No published schedule; pricing not disclosed until after production approval. Pay as You Go available in US; Growth and Custom plans require sales negotiation.
5% to 10% or tied to an index like the Consumer Price Index (CPI) plus an additional percentage
Can downgrade
—
—
REF · 05

What users say

Aggregated, with sample sizes. We use whichever review platform has data.

User reviews
TrustRadius · Trustpilot · G2
Trustpilot
1out of 5 (24)
Best for
Individuals and developers
Watch out
Bank account connections frequently fail or disconnect without warning
TrustRadius
9out of 5 (6)
Trustpilot
1out of 5 (1)
Best for
Individuals designing an API
Watch out
Integration between components not working properly
Decide
Get a quote from each vendor
Each link opens the vendor's pricing page in a new tab.
License cost is computed from publicly listed plans (real math, list price × seats). Median annual cost is from Vendr's deal flow when available — see source badges. Hidden costs and contract terms each cite their own sources. We do not invent composite scores.
API Management

Plaid

Custom pricing
3 plans
Full pricing breakdown →
VS
API Management

Stoplight

$56–$453
/mo
4 plans
Full pricing breakdown →

Plan-by-Plan Pricing

Plan Plaid Stoplight
Pay as You Go Custom $56 /month
Growth Custom $147 /month
Custom Custom $453 /month
Enterprise — Custom

Cost at Scale

Total cost of ownership — licenses, implementation, and hidden costs included.

Plaid

2 scenarios
Custom pricing — no public rates
Small Startup (Pay as You Go)
$9,000/year (Vendr median)
Mid-Market Company (Vendr Benchmark)

Stoplight

1 scenario
$99/month ($1,188/year)
Small Development Team (2 developers)

Market Intelligence

Plaid

Median annual cost
$9,000
Based on
39 deals

Stoplight

Median annual cost
$2,494
Based on
70 deals

What Users Say

Plaid

Trustpilot
1out of 5 (24)
Top complaints
  • Bank account connections frequently fail or disconnect without warning
  • No direct user support — told to contact the app or bank instead
  • Invisible transaction limits and unhelpful bot support

Stoplight

Trustpilot
1out of 5 (1)
TrustRadius
9out of 10 (6)
Top complaints
  • Integration between components not working properly
  • Code view changes get overridden when editing OAS files
  • Azure DevOps integration is very slow

Contract Terms

Term Plaid Stoplight
Auto-renewal — Yes
Cancellation — typically 30-180 days before renewal
Minimum commitment — —
Price escalation No published schedule; pricing not disclosed until after production approval. Pay as You Go available in US; Growth and Custom plans require sales negotiation. 5% to 10% or tied to an index like the Consumer Price Index (CPI) plus an additional percentage

Continue researching